What Do The Orenda and Loretta Saunders have in common? – The Power to Change our Nation!

I think it is important to remember how Loretta Saunders the Inuk woman who was researching the death and disappearance of so many of her sisters died but even more important to remember how she lived her life and be inspired by that. That is what I choose to do. I choose to be inspired by her courage, her passion, her commitment of service to her community and her fearlessness. First Nations are not my birth community but as someone who shares this land called Canada with the First Nations and is grateful for their gifts in so many ways I wish to better understand the First Nations and play whatever small role I can in supporting their aspirations.

When I heard that Loretta Saunders had been researching the disappearance and possible murder of up to 800 of her sisters and then she herself was murdered I was deeply saddened. But I asked myself “What can I do to make a difference?” And I started to keep that question in my mind almost as meditation or prayer and gradually over time answers starting to come to me again and again. I believe if we ask questions the answers will start to come.

I will support those who ask for the public inquiry into the death and disappearance of all those women but that will not be my main focus. Think that terrible reality is part of the problem and must be addressed but part of the reason this tragedy occurs is due to lack of understanding and love between all the peoples of our great land. This is a place I can do something about.
Here is what I thought of doing in this past week:

(What follows might sound like a daunting list but to contextualize this much of the work I might do is just about learning and sharing information. Much of the work I mention I won’t be that physically involved in – I plan to just be involved in putting ideas out there as I am doing now and acting in strategic ways around the others.)

Secure Andre Cazabon’s film “Third World Canada” and find friends to watch it with and see if we can find wider viewership. (I have access to several copies and several venues already where it can be shown)

Finding about events related to Aboriginal Awareness Week the week of May after Victoria Day and see about taking part in these. Find ways to promote these events in the communities I am connected with.
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/ee/awsa-eng.asp

I learned that a Youth Action Report on First Nations Youth called Feathers of Hope had just been published. I plan to read this and find ways to reach out in my role as a Youth Worker to First Nations Youth to help promote and publicize this. I would like to find ways to see the key items of this report operationalized and sources of funding found for them. I will not be the one to make all this happen but I have ways and contacts to get the ball rolling.
http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/thunder-bay/feathers-of-hope-report-demands-action-for-aboriginal-youth-1.2549547

I have begun to contact friends who work within the First Nations community and new opportunities are coming up. Stephen Leafloor (Buddha) who does tremendous work with Hip Hop amongst our northern First Nations community told me about an amazing youth event happening during National Youth Arts week in Mississauga.

Click to access Rebel14%20Info.pdf

Then earlier today Joseph Boyden’s The Orenda was chosen as part of Canada Reads as A Novel that can change our Nation. To me that is a Juicy Opportunity that has to be embraced. I plan to read that book but put that idea out to groups involved in Social Change to act quickly to bring together key actors to leverage the opportunity this novel offers in developing understanding between First Nations and the rest of Canada.

(One novel to Change Our Nation http://www.cbc.ca/mediacentre/canada-reads.html )

These are just a few things I have begun to notice since I asked the question: “What can be done in response to Loretta Saunder’s death and life? To honour her, be inspired by her and carry on her work?” I believe the Dead are still with us in so many ways and the love they put into the world and that others gave to them is a living powerful thing that can be a tool to awaken us and to move us to action. I will remember and honour Loretta Saunders by choosing to act when I see injustice and as she quoted on her Facebook page: “To Speak the Truth even when my voice shakes!”

Leave a comment